Re: [LAT] To much latency

Previous message: [thread] [date] [author]
Next message: [thread] [date] [author]
To: Rafael Vega <email.rafa@...>
Cc: <linux-audio-tuning@...>
Date: Tuesday, November 1, 2011 - 10:04 am

Hi Rafael,

> My laptop is a MacBookPro8,1 with i7 processor, 8GB ram, built-in intel

For Intel HDA a tweak is often required to get good performance. See:

http://apps.linuxaudio.org/wiki/intel_hda_realtime_howto

Ignore the kernel recompile part, but note the issue with mixer capture
switches if using jackd in full duplex mode.

> Codec: Cirrus Logic CS4206

Try adding these options at the end of /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

options snd-hda-intel model=mbp55 position_fix=1 enable=1 index=0

The mbp55 value for CS4206 is found near the end of:

http://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/sound/alsa/HD-Audio-Models.txt

Then reboot and see if JACK performance improves. You should be able to
get 64 frames/period x 3 periods/buffer @ 48KHz on this hardware.

Cheers!

Daniel
_______________________________________________
Linux-audio-tuning mailing list
Linux-audio-tuning@lists.linuxaudio.org
http://lists.linuxaudio.org/listinfo/linux-audio-tuning

Previous message: [thread] [date] [author]
Next message: [thread] [date] [author]

Messages in current thread:
[Linux-audio-tuning] test, MarcOChapeau, (Sun Jul 27, 11:34 am)
[LAT] hello, dyne:bolic -rt and freeeee, jaromil, (Wed Sep 10, 2:06 pm)
[LAT] BIOS and IRQ, Grammostola Rosea, (Wed Nov 26, 8:55 pm)
[LAT] Setting up a performance synth, David McClanahan, (Wed Jan 13, 9:55 pm)
[LAT] We're back online !, Marc-Olivier Barre, (Thu Apr 22, 8:10 pm)
[LAT] presonus firebox and 2.6.31-9-rt gives tons of xruns, yvan volochine, (Tue May 18, 10:45 am)
[LAT] Document on using Jack Apps, Arvind Venkatasubramanian..., (Sat Jul 31, 10:23 pm)
[LAT] rt kernel 2.6.39, Emanuel Rumpf, (Sun May 29, 11:56 am)
[LAT] To much latency, Dave Stikkolorum, (Sun Oct 30, 11:02 am)
[LAT] 3.x kernel, Emanuel Rumpf, (Wed May 2, 8:48 pm)
Re: [LAT] 3.x kernel, Robin Gareus, (Wed May 2, 8:51 pm)
Re: [LAT] To much latency, Jeremy Jongepier, (Sun Oct 30, 11:25 am)
Re: [LAT] To much latency, Dave Stikkolorum, (Sun Oct 30, 11:55 am)
Re: [LAT] To much latency, Jeremy Jongepier, (Sun Oct 30, 12:03 pm)
Re: [LAT] To much latency, Dave Stikkolorum, (Sun Oct 30, 12:23 pm)
Re: [LAT] To much latency, Jeremy Jongepier, (Sun Oct 30, 1:50 pm)
Re: [LAT] To much latency, Dave Stikkolorum, (Sun Oct 30, 2:13 pm)
Re: [LAT] To much latency, Jeremy Jongepier, (Sun Oct 30, 2:19 pm)
Re: [LAT] To much latency, Dave Stikkolorum, (Sun Oct 30, 2:39 pm)
Re: [LAT] To much latency, Jeremy Jongepier, (Mon Oct 31, 11:59 am)
Re: [LAT] To much latency, Dave Stikkolorum, (Tue Nov 1, 4:17 pm)
Re: [LAT] To much latency, Jeremy Jongepier, (Wed Nov 2, 5:34 pm)
Re: [LAT] To much latency, Rafael Vega, (Tue Nov 1, 12:25 am)
Re: [LAT] To much latency, Daniel James, (Tue Nov 1, 10:04 am)
Re: [LAT] To much latency, Rafael Vega, (Thu Nov 3, 12:33 pm)
Re: [LAT] To much latency, email.rafa@gmail.com, (Thu Dec 22, 2:50 pm)
Re: [LAT] rt kernel 2.6.39, Robin Gareus, (Sun May 29, 1:43 pm)
Re: [LAT] rt kernel 2.6.39, Emanuel Rumpf, (Sun May 29, 2:39 pm)
Re: [LAT] rt kernel 2.6.39, Robin Gareus, (Mon May 30, 3:52 pm)
Re: [LAT] Document on using Jack Apps, Daniel James, (Tue Aug 3, 6:48 pm)
Re: [LAT] [LAU] Are RT-patches needed anymore? (Was Re: &gt;..., Lars-Erik Helander, (Mon Feb 2, 8:53 am)
Re: [LAT] [LAU] Are RT-patches needed anymore? (Was Re: &gt;..., Fernando Lopez-Lezcano, (Mon Feb 2, 6:35 pm)