Re: [LAT] Tickless kernel and realtime

Previous message: [thread] [date] [author]
Next message: [thread] [date] [author]
To: Jaromír Mikeš <mira.mikes@...>
Cc: <linux-audio-tuning@...>
Date: Thursday, September 18, 2008 - 2:47 pm

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

Jaromír Mikeš wrote:

It changes the way timer interrupts are triggered. tickless means only
on demand.

There may be scheduling benefits, but they can probably be neglected:
timer-interrupts are handled quickly, NTL cause the CPU to //wake-up and
consume more power//.

robin
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.4.9 (GNU/Linux)

iEYEARECAAYFAkjSaeoACgkQeVUk8U+VK0J66QCguAaltax0VYtTl8myxHDxtD+5
JVoAoI8zE7YWhsPvWc8/I5HLt2CRgK3u
=CVwC
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
_______________________________________________
Linux-audio-tuning mailing list
Linux-audio-tuning@lists.linuxaudio.org
http://lists.linuxaudio.org/listinfo/linux-audio-tuning

Previous message: [thread] [date] [author]
Next message: [thread] [date] [author]

Messages in current thread:
[Linux-audio-tuning] New Linux-audio-tuning mailing list, Daniel James, (Tue Jul 29, 11:43 am)
[LAT] Tickless kernel and realtime, Maurizio De Cecco, (Fri Sep 12, 1:20 pm)
[LAT] RT patch not needed for new kernels (?), Grammostola Rosea, (Wed Nov 26, 11:07 pm)
[LAT] Fwd: [LAU] Are RT-patches needed anymore? (Was Re: &gt..., Lars-Erik Helander, (Mon Feb 2, 7:36 pm)
[LAT] 2.6.29-rt1, Robin Gareus, (Thu Mar 26, 6:52 pm)
Re: [LAT] Setting up a performance synth, Brian Bergstrom, (Thu Jan 14, 6:17 pm)
Re: [LAT] To much latency, Jeremy Jongepier, (Thu Nov 3, 8:22 pm)
Re: [LAT] 2.6.29-rt1, Fernando Lopez-Lezcano, (Thu Mar 26, 8:40 pm)
Re: [LAT] 2.6.29-rt1, Robin Gareus, (Thu Mar 26, 9:21 pm)
Re: [LAT] 2.6.29-rt1, Fernando Lopez-Lezcano, (Fri Mar 27, 5:23 pm)
Re: [LAT] 2.6.29-rt1, , (Fri Mar 27, 7:09 pm)
Re: [LAT] 2.6.29-rt1, Robin Gareus, (Fri Mar 27, 5:27 pm)
Re: [LAT] 2.6.29-rt1, , (Fri Mar 27, 12:57 pm)
Re: [LAT] 2.6.29-rt1, Robin Gareus, (Fri Mar 27, 12:59 pm)
Re: [LAT] 2.6.29-rt1, Grammostola Rosea, (Fri Mar 27, 1:02 pm)
Re: [LAT] 2.6.29-rt1, , (Thu Mar 26, 8:13 pm)
Re: [LAT] 2.6.29-rt1, Robin Gareus, (Thu Mar 26, 8:30 pm)
Re: [LAT] [LAU] RT patch not needed for new kernels (?), Fernando Lopez-Lezcano, (Wed Nov 26, 11:45 pm)
Re: [LAT] Tickless kernel and realtime, Robin Gareus, (Mon Sep 15, 5:00 pm)
Re: [LAT] Tickless kernel and realtime, Daniel James, (Tue Sep 16, 9:36 am)
Re: [LAT] Tickless kernel and realtime, Jaromír Mikeš, (Wed Sep 17, 10:36 pm)
Re: [LAT] Tickless kernel and realtime, Robin Gareus, (Thu Sep 18, 2:47 pm)
Re: [LAT] Tickless kernel and realtime, Jaromír Mikeš, (Thu Sep 18, 7:42 pm)
Re: [LAT] Tickless kernel and realtime, Emanuel Rumpf, (Sun Sep 14, 12:38 pm)