Re: [Consortium] OpenUp your Concept

Previous message: [thread] [date] [author]
Next message: [thread] [date] [author]
To: Robin Gareus <robin@...>
Cc: anybody <kyeldon@...>, consortium <consortium@...>
Date: Saturday, April 24, 2010 - 3:40 pm

Hi Robin,

> However, "Linux" is a well-known established name, that many

I recall when Richard Stallman made the same objection to the
linuxaudio.org name, I pointed out that our mission is very much to do
with the low-latency Linux kernel, ALSA, and other components that are
exclusive to GNU/Linux. Other people might want to build Debian on
FreeBSD's kernel or the Hurd, but as far as I'm aware, high quality
audio performance is not even on the radar of these other projects, let
alone known to be working.

As for Free Software applications on Windows or OS X, they are fine for
those users, but there probably wouldn't be a Sourceforge, or any libre
cross-platform GUI toolkits for them to use if it wasn't for the
GNU/Linux phenomenon. We haven't come this far with GNU/Linux to then
say that the operating system that people use is unimportant.

Cheers!

Daniel
_______________________________________________
Consortium mailing list
Consortium@lists.linuxaudio.org
http://lists.linuxaudio.org/listinfo/consortium

Previous message: [thread] [date] [author]
Next message: [thread] [date] [author]

Messages in current thread:
[Consortium] linuxaudio.org, Marek Peteraj, (Fri Jan 23, 11:09 pm)
[Consortium] stream relay network..., Joern Nettingsmeier, (Fri Apr 8, 2:17 am)
Re: [Consortium] Linux trademark, Daniel James, (Wed Jun 29, 7:07 pm)
[Consortium] Re: [linux-audio-user] More about consolidation..., Eric Dantan Rzewnicki, (Tue Mar 28, 9:49 pm)
[Consortium] Linuxaudio.org minor server update, Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Fri Aug 11, 9:04 pm)
[Consortium] new releases, Fons Adriaensen, (Wed Dec 19, 1:21 pm)
Re: [Consortium] new musical keyboard, Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Thu Feb 26, 7:50 pm)
Re: [Consortium] First L2Ork track now available, Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Wed Dec 9, 3:47 am)
Re: [Consortium] OpenUp your Concept, Robin Gareus, (Fri Apr 23, 8:42 pm)
Re: [Consortium] lao subdomains, Jörn Nettingsmeier, (Thu Apr 26, 9:18 pm)
Re: [Consortium] OpenUp your Concept, Daniel James, (Sat Apr 24, 3:40 pm)
Re: [Consortium] csound debian packages on the way, Ken Restivo, (Wed Apr 9, 6:40 pm)
[Consortium] Re: [linux-audio-user] More about consolidation..., Eric Dantan Rzewnicki, (Wed Mar 29, 2:00 pm)
Re: [Consortium] stream relay network..., Daniel James, (Mon Apr 18, 4:38 pm)
Re: [Consortium] linuxaudio.org, Andrea Glorioso, (Fri Jan 23, 11:39 pm)
Re: [Consortium] linuxaudio.org, Joern Nettingsmeier, (Sat Jan 24, 5:32 pm)
Re: [Consortium] linuxaudio.org, Andrea Glorioso, (Sat Jan 24, 5:48 pm)
Re: [Consortium] linuxaudio.org, Steve Harris, (Sat Jan 24, 10:29 pm)
Re: [Consortium] linuxaudio.org, Andrea Glorioso, (Mon Jan 26, 4:15 pm)
Re: [Consortium] linuxaudio.org, Marek Peteraj, (Sat Jan 24, 2:57 am)
Re: [Consortium] linuxaudio.org, Andrea Glorioso, (Sat Jan 24, 4:56 pm)
Re: [Consortium] linuxaudio.org, Marek Peteraj, (Sat Jan 24, 5:19 pm)
Re: [Consortium] linuxaudio.org, Andrea Glorioso, (Sat Jan 24, 5:37 pm)
Re: [Consortium] linuxaudio.org, Marek Peteraj, (Sat Jan 24, 6:28 pm)