Re: [Consortium] Made in Linux Vol.2

Previous message: [thread] [date] [author]
Next message: [thread] [date] [author]
To: Ivica Ico Bukvic <ico@...>
Cc: <consortium@...>
Date: Thursday, February 14, 2008 - 10:39 am

Hi Ico,

> 3) recruit a jury who will judge submissions

Sometimes it's better to have a benevolent dictator approach in matters
of taste :-) If there are lots of people who'd like to have a go at
this, maybe we could have a series, where each disc has a personal
selection on it.

I really enjoyed putting together the first disc, although in retrospect
there were some mistakes in the mastering. I'm happy to re-master it now
that I have more experience with JAMin, if there's any interest in me
doing that.

> 4) oversee the judging process, and inform the participants of their

Maybe the tracks which don't make the disc should be available on the
website. Popularity isn't everything, but they could be rated up or down
by listeners, and then the highest rated tracks be added to an Icecast
playlist. Vorbis high bitrate stream, of course :-)

> 5) ensure that the licensing of the works is taken care of with selected

I found there was really no consensus on this issue. We had the full
range from 'public domain' to 'all rights reserved' on the first disc.
If we insist on certain licences, then we'll exclude a great number of
artists.

Cheers!

Daniel

Previous message: [thread] [date] [author]
Next message: [thread] [date] [author]

Messages in current thread:
[Consortium] Re: [linux-audio-dev] Re: linuxaudio.org, Daniel James, (Thu Jan 22, 5:34 pm)
[Consortium] Re: Joining linuxaudio, Daniel James, (Thu Mar 24, 2:52 pm)
[Consortium] Re: mLAN on Linux, Daniel James, (Sat Jun 25, 2:31 pm)
[Consortium] Re: Streetfiresound RBX 1600, Daniel James, (Mon Aug 22, 3:56 pm)
[Consortium] mirror site for ISO?, , (Fri Aug 4, 4:04 pm)
[Consortium] LAC2008 submission deadline extended, Martin Rumori, (Sat Dec 1, 2:21 pm)
[Consortium] Made in Linux Vol.2, Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Wed Feb 13, 5:14 pm)
[Consortium] OpenExpo 2008 in Karlsruhe, Reinhard, (Sat Mar 29, 7:22 pm)
[Consortium] First release of jkmeter, Fons Adriaensen, (Sun Aug 3, 2:09 pm)
[Consortium] LAC2009 website on line, Fons Adriaensen, (Fri Oct 31, 9:50 am)
[Consortium] [Fwd: Re: Affiliation of linuxaudio.org?], Daniel James, (Wed Nov 19, 11:37 am)
[Consortium] ATTN: Sponsors for Linux Audio Awards, Patrick Shirkey, (Tue Jan 27, 5:25 am)
Re: [Consortium] [LAU] poll : Advertising vs Linux Audio, Patrick Shirkey, (Sun Apr 22, 1:45 pm)
Re: [Consortium] [LAU] poll : Advertising vs Linux Audio, Robin Gareus, (Mon Apr 23, 12:16 pm)
Re: [Consortium] [LAU] poll : Advertising vs Linux Audio, Patrick Shirkey, (Mon Apr 23, 11:46 pm)
Re: [Consortium] poll : Advertising vs Linux Audio, Robin Gareus, (Tue Apr 24, 6:56 pm)
Re: [Consortium] [LAU] First release of jkmeter, Raphaƫl Doursenaud, (Sun Aug 3, 2:35 pm)
Re: [Consortium] OpenExpo 2008 in Karlsruhe, Burkhard Ritter, (Sun Apr 6, 9:37 pm)
Re: [Consortium] OpenExpo 2008 in Karlsruhe, Reinhard, (Tue Apr 8, 5:01 am)
Re: [Consortium] OpenExpo 2008 in Karlsruhe, Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Sun Mar 30, 2:39 am)
Re: [Consortium] OpenExpo 2008 in Karlsruhe, Michael Bohle, (Sun Mar 30, 10:45 am)
Re: [Consortium] Made in Linux Vol.2, Daniel James, (Thu Feb 14, 10:39 am)
Re: [Consortium] Made in Linux Vol.2, Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Thu Feb 14, 2:24 pm)
Re: [Consortium] Made in Linux Vol.2, Ken Restivo, (Thu Feb 14, 10:45 pm)
Re: [Consortium] mirror site for ISO?, Daniel James, (Fri Aug 4, 4:10 pm)
Re: [Consortium] problem about inclusion of Ubuntu, Patrick Shirkey, (Tue Mar 28, 2:13 am)
Re: [Consortium] Re: UK free software audio/video conference, Andrea Glorioso, (Mon Jan 24, 3:25 am)
Re: [Consortium] Re: UK free software audio/video conference, Joern Nettingsmeier, (Mon Feb 21, 11:57 pm)
Re: [Consortium] Re: UK free software audio/video conference, Andrea Glorioso, (Mon Jan 24, 4:01 pm)
Re: [Consortium] Re: UK free software audio/video conference, Joern Nettingsmeier, (Wed Jan 5, 1:11 am)
Re: [Consortium] Re: UK free software audio/video conference, Joern Nettingsmeier, (Wed Jan 5, 1:12 am)