[Consortium] Macbook Pro + JACKD = incredible latency

Previous message: [thread] [date] [author]
Next message: [thread] [date] [author]
To: 'A list for linux audio users' <linux-audio-user@...>
Cc: <consortium@...>
Date: Monday, August 7, 2006 - 8:39 am

FWIW, wanted to share some impressive performance I managed to pull off
earlier today from my new toy:

RECIPE:
1 Macbook Pro
1 Ubuntu Dapper (vanilla 2.6.15-26 kernel)
1 adjustment to rtlimits (total of 2 lines)
1 fglrx driver
1 Xgl with all eye-candy you can get
1 JACK + Qjackctl
1 32 x 3 buffer size

Mix it up. Run in realtime.

RESULT: xrun-free 2ms latency on a crummy built-in soundcard (2 in, 6 out)
plus all the eye-candy goodness you can possibly dream of at approx. 14%
CPU. ;-)

Ivica Ico Bukvic, D.M.A. Composition
Virginia Tech
Dept. of Music - 0240
Blacksburg, VA 24061
(540) 231-7047
(540) 231-5034 (fax)
ico@vt.edu
http://www.music.vt.edu/people/faculty/bukvic/

Previous message: [thread] [date] [author]
Next message: [thread] [date] [author]

Messages in current thread:
[Consortium] Re: LinuxAudio.org and Salem Radio Labs, Daniel James, (Fri Jan 23, 6:09 pm)
Re: [Consortium] Wider scope for linuxaudio.org: home audio, Andreas Kuckartz, (Tue Jan 11, 2:50 pm)
[Consortium] Linux trademark, Daniel James, (Wed Jun 29, 4:33 pm)
[Consortium] Macbook Pro + JACKD = incredible latency, Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Mon Aug 7, 8:39 am)
[Consortium] Weaver Birds - 8 years of dyne.org, jaromil, (Fri Aug 8, 10:08 am)
[Consortium] LAC2009 update, Fons Adriaensen, (Tue Feb 24, 12:14 am)
[Consortium] First L2Ork track now available, Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Wed Dec 9, 3:07 am)
[Consortium] lao subdomains, Robin Gareus, (Thu Apr 26, 3:47 pm)
Re: [Consortium] lao subdomains, Patrick Shirkey, (Fri Apr 27, 12:19 am)
Re: [Consortium] lao subdomains, Robin Gareus, (Fri Apr 27, 2:50 pm)
Re: [Consortium] lao subdomains, Jörn Nettingsmeier, (Thu Apr 26, 8:47 pm)
[Consortium] LAO stats -- was Re: lao subdomains, Robin Gareus, (Fri Apr 27, 2:31 pm)
Re: [Consortium] olpc linux-powered Csound makes the news, Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Mon Apr 7, 7:15 pm)
[Consortium] Re: [linux-audio-user] More about consolidation..., Eric Dantan Rzewnicki, (Tue Mar 28, 9:52 pm)
[Consortium] RE: [linux-audio-user] More about consolidation..., Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Tue Mar 28, 11:31 pm)
[Consortium] Status update - Boost Hardware Ltd, DJCJ..., Patrick Shirkey, (Mon Oct 10, 3:51 pm)
Re: [Consortium] Linux trademark, jaromil, (Wed Jun 29, 8:09 pm)
Re: [Consortium] Linux trademark, Daniel James, (Thu Jun 30, 4:30 pm)
[Consortium] Re: LinuxAudio.org and Salem Radio Labs, Fred Gleason, (Fri Jan 23, 7:57 pm)
[Consortium] Re: LinuxAudio.org and Salem Radio Labs, Daniel James, (Fri Jan 23, 10:34 pm)