Re: [Consortium] re: Linuxaudio.org updates

Previous message: [thread] [date] [author]
Next message: [thread] [date] [author]
To: Daniel James <daniel@...>
Cc: <consortium@...>
Date: Monday, March 20, 2006 - 6:21 pm

On 3/20/06, Daniel James wrote:

Hi,

I've been on the list for a while, mostly because I'm on many many
lists and this one particularly since I'm interested in associations,
federations, consortiums and the likes. Also, my brother has a
recording studio, and I'd like to help him use free software.

Tux, the penguin, is the Linux mascot. But Linux is just a kernel.
Calling the whole system just Linux is arguably a misuse of the
trademark.

I'm also president of a local association in Québec (FACIL) to promote
the adoption of free software, and as such, I'm very careful that we
use Tux for the right context, and not as an illustration of the whole
free software spectrum.

If I can have some influence over here, I wish you pick another
mascot. I'd still appreciate all the work if you did you Tux, it's a
mistake a lot of people make, but repeating a mistake won't make it
right in the end.

Voilà, my 0,02 $.

--
Robin 'oqp' Millette (aka Lord D. Nattor)
http://rym.waglo.com/wordpress/

Previous message: [thread] [date] [author]
Next message: [thread] [date] [author]

Messages in current thread:
[Consortium] Re: [linux-audio-dev] Re: linuxaudio.org, Andrea Glorioso, (Thu Jan 22, 5:35 am)
[Consortium] Re: Linux @ Sounds Expo, Daniel James, (Wed Dec 22, 12:52 am)
[Consortium] re: Linuxaudio.org updates, Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Sat Mar 18, 12:06 am)
Re: [Consortium] Logo update, Thorsten Wilms, (Sat May 13, 6:36 pm)
[Consortium] dyne:bolic 2.1 codename DHORUBA, jaromil, (Thu Jul 13, 6:12 pm)
[Consortium] Csound 5.07 released, Victor Lazzarini, (Fri Oct 12, 8:55 am)
[Consortium] [ANN] FreeBoB: libfreebob-1.0.7 released, Pieter Palmers, (Thu Nov 29, 9:51 am)
[Consortium] Jack compiling + alsa, , (Fri Jan 25, 10:14 pm)
[Consortium] Fwd: a little surprise found on your site., Thorsten Wilms, (Sat Jul 12, 7:52 am)
[Consortium] Sponsors for prizes, Patrick Shirkey, (Thu Oct 30, 6:19 am)
[Consortium] Need hardware and software sugestions, Andres Blanco, (Tue Jan 20, 10:30 pm)
[Consortium] introducing l2ork, Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Fri Oct 23, 6:52 pm)
[Consortium] L2Ork Debut Performance at Virginia Tech, Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Fri Nov 27, 3:56 pm)
[Consortium] Announcing new Linuxaudio.org consortium members, Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Mon Jan 25, 6:24 pm)
[Consortium] The LAC Times Edition #2, Marc Groenewegen, (Sat Apr 3, 3:43 pm)
[Consortium] FW: Audio article, Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Sat Oct 16, 5:26 pm)
Re: [Consortium] [LAU] Protest, Jeremy Jongepier, (Tue Jan 17, 10:57 pm)
[Consortium] linuxaudiojournal.com, Patrick Shirkey, (Sat Apr 21, 3:25 am)
Re: [Consortium] [LAU] Protest, Robin Gareus, (Thu Jan 19, 12:20 am)
Re: [Consortium] [LAU] Protest, Jeremy Jongepier, (Thu Jan 19, 8:41 am)
[Consortium] LAC 2010 program is online !, Marc Groenewegen, (Mon Apr 19, 3:59 pm)
Re: [Consortium] Need hardware and software sugestions, Jörn Nettingsmeier, (Tue Jan 20, 11:49 pm)
Re: [Consortium] Need hardware and software sugestions, Daniel James, (Wed Jan 21, 10:16 am)
Re: [Consortium] Sponsors for prizes, Pieter Palmers, (Thu Oct 30, 8:28 am)
Re: [Consortium] Sponsors for prizes, Patrick Shirkey, (Thu Oct 30, 8:52 am)
Re: [Consortium] Jack compiling + alsa, Esben Stien, (Tue Mar 4, 4:05 pm)
Re: [Consortium] Jack compiling + alsa, Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Sat Jan 26, 12:26 am)
Re: [Consortium] Jack compiling + alsa, Esben Stien, (Tue Mar 4, 4:04 pm)
Re: [Consortium] Jack compiling + alsa, jaromil, (Mon Jan 28, 7:30 am)
Re: [Consortium] Jack compiling + alsa, Daniel James, (Mon Jan 28, 10:14 am)
Re: [Consortium] Logo update, Patrick Shirkey, (Sun May 14, 2:55 am)
RE: [Consortium] Logo update, Ivica Ico Bukvic, (Tue May 16, 11:14 am)
Re: [Consortium] re: Linuxaudio.org updates, Richard Bown, (Mon Mar 20, 5:12 pm)
Re: [Consortium] re: Linuxaudio.org updates, Steve Harris, (Mon Mar 20, 5:20 pm)
Re: [Consortium] re: Linuxaudio.org updates, Dana Olson, (Mon Mar 20, 5:16 pm)
Re: [Consortium] re: Linuxaudio.org updates, Daniel James, (Mon Mar 20, 6:05 pm)
Re: [Consortium] re: Linuxaudio.org updates, Robin Millette, (Mon Mar 20, 6:21 pm)
Re: [Consortium] re: Linuxaudio.org updates, Daniel James, (Mon Mar 20, 7:57 pm)
Re: [Consortium] re: Linuxaudio.org updates, Steve Harris, (Mon Mar 20, 9:04 pm)
Re: [Consortium] re: Linuxaudio.org updates, Daniel James, (Tue Mar 21, 4:02 pm)
Re: [Consortium] re: Linuxaudio.org updates, Steve Harris, (Tue Mar 21, 4:38 pm)
Re: [Consortium] re: Linuxaudio.org updates, Robin Millette, (Mon Mar 20, 8:38 pm)
[Consortium] Re: [Linuxsampler-devel] Re: linuxsampler and o..., Christian Schoenebeck, (Sat Mar 19, 4:13 am)